Protecting Livestock. Improving Human Lives

Protection of Cattle Elicited Using a Bivalent Lumpy Skin Disease Virus-Vectored Recombinant Rift Valley Fever Vaccine

Author: D.B Wallace, A. Mather1, P. D. Kara, Leeann Naicker, Nobalanda B. Mokoena, A. Pretorius, T. Nefefe, N. Thema and Shawn Babiuk

Year: 2020

About this Publication:

Lumpy skin disease and Rift Valley fever are two high-priority livestock diseases which have the potential to spread into previously free regions through animal movement and/or vectors, as well as intentional release by bioterrorists. Since the distribution range of both diseases is similar in Africa, it makes sense to use a bivalent vaccine to control them. This may lead to the more consistent and sustainable use of vaccination against Rift Valley fever through a more cost-effective vaccine. In this study, a recombinant lumpy skin disease virus was constructed in which the thymidine kinase gene was used as the insertion site for the Gn and Gc protective glycoprotein genes of Rift Valley fever virus using homologous recombination. Selection markers, the enhanced green fluorescent protein and Escherichia coli guanidine phosphoribosyl transferase (gpt), were used for selection of recombinant virus and in a manner enabling a second recombination event to occur upon removal of the gpt selection-pressure allowing the removal of both marker genes in the final product. This recombinant virus,, was selected to homogeneity, characterized and evaluated in cattle as a vaccine to show protection against both lumpy skin disease and Rift Valley fever in cattle. The results demonstrate that the is safe, immunogenic and can protect cattle against both diseases.

Grant: PLSHL1

Subject Areas: Research and Development

Diseases: Rift Valley Fever, Lumpy Skin Disease



Capripoxviruses, ELISA, PCR, RNA virus, Vaccination, candidate vaccine, challenge, recombination


Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Reunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, United Republic Of, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Download Publication (PDF)