Protecting Livestock. Improving Human Lives

A policy scoping study on harmonisation of registration requirements for veterinary products for mutual recognition among East African Community partner states

Author: Dr Nicholas Ozor

Year: 2017

About this Publication:

The East African Community (EAC) is a Regional Economic Community (REC) established by the EAC Treaty of 2000 and is made up six Partner States: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. The main objective of the EAC is to foster integration and cooperation among its Partner States. In this regard the EAC, through the support of the Global Alliance for Livestock Veterinary Medicines (GALVmed), has been engaged in activities to harmonize technical requirements for veterinary vaccines registration in East Africa. These activities are expected to have an impact on agriculture and livestock production and, consequently, to contribute to food security, and to enhance trade integration and growth of the East African economy.

Grant: PLSHL2

Subject Areas: Policy and Advocacy


East Africa, East African Community, Mutual Recognition Procedure, Policy, policy scoping study, regulatory harmonisation, veterinary products


Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Reunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Tanzania, United Republic Of, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Download Publication (PDF)