Protecting Livestock. Improving Human Lives

A hyperendemic focus of Taenia solium transmission in the Banke District of Nepal

Author: Keshav Sah, Ishab Poudel, Suyog Subedi, Dinesh Kumar Singh, Jo Cocker,Peetambar Kushwaha, Angela Colston, Meritxell Donadeu and Marshall W. Lightowlers

Year: 2017

About this Publication:

Neurocysticercosis is a major cause of epilepsy in countries where Taenia solium is endemic and the parasite is a major cause of food-borne disease globally. Pigs are the natural intermediate host involved in transmission of the parasite. T. solium is known to be endemic in Nepal, however there is limited reliable data about the prevalence of the disease in Nepal. The aim of this study was to determine accurately the prevalence of porcine cysticercosis in slaughter age pigs in an area of Nepal where pigs are known to be free-roaming. Pigs were obtained from the Udaypur Village Development Committee (VDC) and Hirminiya & Betahani VDC of the Banke district in Nepal. One hundred and ten animals of slaughter age (approximately 8–16 months old) were purchased, slaughtered and the heart, liver, brain and half the body skeletal musculature were sliced using hand knives and the number and viability of T. solium cysts determined. Thirty two of the 110 animals were found to harbour T. solium cysticerci (29%), of which 30 (27%) were found to have viable cysticerci (93% of the infected animals). This is one of the highest prevalences of porcine cysticercosis that has been reported to date from the results of necropsy on randomly selected animals. This study highlights a high rate of transmission of T. solium in the Banke District of Nepal. It encourages further investigation of human and porcine cysticercosis in Nepal, as well as implementation of efforts to reduce transmission of the parasite and the associated human disease.

Grant: PLSHL2

Subject Areas: Research and Development

Diseases: Porcine Cysticercosis


Banke, Cysticercosis, Necropsy, Nepal, PC, Pig, Pigs, Porcine Cysticercosis, Taenia solium


Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Viet Nam

Download Publication (PDF)