Protecting Livestock. Improving Human Lives

Ethiopia Field Study Report on Animal African Trypanosomosis

Author: Hannah Holt, Bhagyalakshmi Chengat Prakashbabu, Morgane Salines, Richard Selby, Grant Napier and Javier Guitan

Year: 2016

About this Publication:

This is one of five country specific sub-Saharan African studies (conducted in Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Ethiopia and Uganda and Zambia) aimed at generating baseline information that could inform the integration of novel treatments, diagnostics and vaccines should they become available. A previous systematic review of recent and on-going Trypanosome & Tsetse control programs has been the basis for the geographic focus of the five studies. This report summarizes the results of the study which was carried out in Ethiopia (South West area: Oromia region and Southern Nations, Nationalities and People’s region). Trypanosomosis is considered endemic in South West Ethiopia and is one of the biggest constraints of livestock production. Four study areas were selected on the basis of environment (including ecoregion) and predicted AAT risk: Goma and Setema (Ethiopian montane grasslands and woodlands- moderate predicted AAT risk); Goro and Cheha (Ethiopian montane forests: High predicted AAT risk); Limu Seka (East) (Ethiopian montane grasslands and woodlands moderate to high predicted AAT risk); Limu Seka (West) (Ethiopian montane forests - moderate to high predicted AAT risk). The study results will inform the refinement of existing decision support tools to aid evidence-based decisions on the use of novel drugs, diagnostics and vaccines as part of integrated Trypanosome & Tsetse control programs.

Grant: Tryps2

Subject Areas: Research and Development

Diseases: Trypanosomosis


Animal African Trypanosomosis, Animal African trypanosomiasis, Cattle, Sub-Saharan Africa, Trypanosomosis, Tryps, Tsetse


Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic Of, Congo, Republic Of, Cote D'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Reunion, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Sao Tome And Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tanzania, United Republic Of, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Download Publication (PDF)